Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Regional » Regional News

Newly elected Mnp legislators sworn in

Correspondent IMPHAL, Mar 19
Published on 19 Mar. 2017 10:28 PM IST
Print  Text Size

The 60 elected members of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly were sworn in on Sunday.
Earlier, BJP legislator V Hangkhalian took oath as pro-tem Speaker before he administered oaths to the newly elected members. State Governor Dr Najma Heptulla administered the oath to V Hangkhanlian, who was elected from Churachandpur A/C of Churachandpur district, at the durbar hall of the Raj Bhawan. 
Chief minister Nongthombam Biren, his cabinet colleagues and MPCC president TN Haokip were among others who attended the swearing-in ceremony. 
Former chief minister Okram Ibobi and the congress MLAs occupied the opposition benches. Independent MLA Ashab Uddin, who went missing in the run up to the government formation, also took the oath today.
After the oath taking, the house observed a 2-minute silence as a mark of respect to the late Rajya Sabha MP, Haji Abdul Salam who passed away last month. 
Speaker of the new Assembly will be elected on Monday followed by a floor test for the N Biren led coalition government.
The budget session of the state Assembly which will have three sittings will commence from Tuesday.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Related News
Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2