Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Regional » Regional News

Manipur: Ahead of trust vote, BJP, Cong move MLAs to safe houses

Correspondent Guwahati, Mar 19
Published on 19 Mar. 2017 11:33 PM IST
Print  Text Size

This year’s assembly elections have been a fascinating story so far. BJP got a clear majority in one state but announced its CM face in three other states before that. While Trivendra Singh Rawat took charge as Uttarakhand Chief Minister, former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikart also won a vote of trust in Goa and now in what could be the final frontier, the party is set to go through a floor test in Manipur on Wednesday morning. 
The party is leaving no stone unturned to form the government in the state and has lodged all its legislators in a Guwahati hotel along with an Independent and a Trinamool Congress lawmaker since Thursday. The Congress has sheltered its 27 MLAs in the house of one of its legislators in Imphal.
Guwahati has been the refuge for BJP legislators of Arunachal Pradesh earlier too. It is the home of Assam BJP finance minister Himanta Biswa Sharma, convenor of North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA). BJP legislator Thokchom Radheshyam, was certain that the BJP chief minister N. Biren Singh will win the vote trust on Monday. The entire BJP legislators and those supporting it will be up against 27 Congress members (after one Congress member defected to BJP).
However, political grapevine in Manipur suggests that the BJP-led coalition government will sail through and there could be cross voting from the Congress legislators.
Rather than any possibility of Congress poaching on BJP and other allies, the most likely possibility is of more Congress legislators defecting to BJP to be in power and then resigning from the house to contest as on BJP tickets. The BJP claims to have the support of 33 legislators with the support of the NPP, NPF, LJP, an independent legislator, the lone Trinamool Congress MLA and a defector from the Congress Shyam Kumar - who took oath as a minister in the N Biren Singh government.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Related News
Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2