Cong fields 12 new faces for Mizoram Assembly polls

Aizawl, Oct 11 (Agencies) | Publish Date: 10/11/2018 10:53:43 AM IST

Thursday’s declaration of Congress candidates for the November 28 Mizoram polls saw 12 new faces, however candidates for four constituencies were not announced, Northeast Now reported.

At a candidate declaration ceremony held at Lal Thanhawla auditorium in Aizawl, the congress president and present chief minister Lal Thanhawla said the older generation of the Congress party has given way for the younger Congress generation. The list of candidates saw younger entrants like former student organisation leaders like Anggu Lalhmachhuana, James Thanghmingmawia and PC Laltlansanga, they are former presidents of the Mizo ZIrlai Pawl.

Among the 12 new entrants, a former IPS officer LT Hrangchal will contest from Chalfilh AC, Mizoram Rajya Sabha member Ronald Sapa Tlau’s younger brother Sangzela Tlau will contest from Tuikum AC. The Congress has also named Joseph Ralte who was the candidate of Zoram Nationalist Party from Tuirial AC in the last election toppling the sitting MLA Hmingdailova.

Mizoram Pradesh Youth Congress president Dr Lalmalsawmna Nghaka, who lost to the MNF candidate Lalruatkima in the last election is being given the second chance to contest against MNF’s Lalruatkima.

Another new face former Aizawl councillor Rosiamngheta will take on the former Congress vice-president and former home minister R Lalzirliana who was recently expelled from the party at Tawi AC, the home turf of the ex-minister for the past twenty years.

Former Mizo Zirlai Pawl president James Thanghmingmawia will be up against the second in command of the MNF Tawnluia at Tuichang AC.

The youngest Congress candidate Anggu Lalhmachhuana will contest from Serlui AC, the sitting Congress MLA Lalrinthanga is among the left outs.

PC Zoramsangliana, former minister who lost from Kolasib gave way to Dr Ngurdingliana, Congress MLA from Chalfilh AC.

Congress, which is looking for a third straight win in Mizoram, has recently faced series of resignations. The home minister and party vice president R Lalzirliana resigned from the minister’s post and later was expelled from the party. He is being tipped to join the MNF anytime soon. After the home minister’s exit from the party, Lalrinliana Sailo, ex-health minister resigned from his MLA’s post and joined the MNF.

Despite series of resignations and axing of several members of the Congress, Lal Thanhawla has assured his party men an easy win in the upcoming elections. He said that statistics was still in the Congress’ favour.

In his brief speech on Thursday Lal Thanhawla said, “MNF leaders are just ballooning the exit of a few of our men. Exit of two party MLAs doesn’t spell exodus. In fact, their party vice president R Lalthangliana has been scouting almost all the constituencies hunting for a soft area. He now has nowhere to run but to stick to South Tuipui. It happens to all their top leaders.”

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-2482 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus