Wednesday, June 7, 2023

14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly constituted



Sharingain Longkumer was (NDPP) re-elected unopposed as speaker of the newly-constituted 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) on the first day of the Assembly session that began here Monday.
Sharingain’s election was a foregone conclusion as he was the only member who filed nomination paper and also declared by pro-tem speaker Mhathung Yanthan. Thereupon the 14th unanimously elected Longkumer as speaker.
Earlier, 59 legislators including chief minister Neiphiu Rio were administered the oath by Mhathung Yanthan as pro-tem speaker.
Leader of the house and chief minister Neiphiu Rio congratulated Sharingain Longkumer on being elected unopposed to the constitutional position and all the legislators, including two women legislators, and welcomed them all to NLA.
Rio reminded that each member was committed to serve the people for peace and development in the State and in this, the newly elected speaker has special responsibility to guide the House in legislation and making policies, implementation of various projects. He exuded confidence that Sharingain , being academically highly qualified and with past experience, would be able to discharge his responsibilities with utmost sincerity.
Accepting the “dignified chair”, Sharingain acknowledged the members led by the leader of the house Neiphiu Rio, deputy chief ministers TR Zeliang and Y Patton for the confidence, trust and privilege bestowed upon him by electing him unopposed as speaker of the 14th NLA for the second term.
In his speech, the newly elected Speaker of the 14th NLA, Sharingain Longkumer thanked the pro-tem speaker, Mhathung Yanthan for administering the oath to all newly-elected legislators and also for initiating the first Assembly session.
He congratulated and welcomed all the members of NLA and noted that there were 29 first time legislators, including two women, besides 31 who have been re-elected.
Following the tradition of NLA, the House welcomed the new members by thumping of desks.
He assured to carry out his duties and responsibilities with the trust and confidence of the members.
He pointed out that the fundamentals and essence in a parliamentary democracy was to always honour people’s mandate and address the most pertinent issues of public concern through discussions, deliberations and decisions in the greater interest of people.
The speaker asserted that NLA was second to none on such matters of public importance, and urged all members of the House to participate and make contributions in raising issues of public importance in the greater interest of democracy.
He assured to prioritise and strengthen various committees of the Assembly in strict compliance with the rules established, as an earnest attempt in support of the efforts to be taken by the State government to bring about a robust system of transparency and accountability in governance.
In this regard, he sought cooperation and support of the chief secretary and civil administration in discharging his duties.
The Speaker also promised to discharge his duties and functions with diligence, dignity and honour, and perform with highest degree of efficiency, integrity and impartiality by protecting the rich traditions, high standards and dignity of the House.
Earlier, the session began with one-minute silent prayer as the pro-tem speaker acknowledged God Almighty for the success of all members in the recently held elections.
Meanwhile, the House also made obituary references to Dr Imtiwapang Aier, former member of NLA who passed away on January 7 this year.
After finishing the business of Day-1, the House was adjourned till 9:30 am on March 21.


Don't Miss