Monday, March 20, 2023

Nagaland: First Kohima district Futsal Championship underway


The first Kohima District Futsal Championship organised by Kohima District Football Association (KDFA) began at L Viluo FIFA Pro Turf, Meriema, 5 km away from the State capital, here on Friday.
A total of 9 teams with KDFA registered players took part in the pre-quarter finals league round.
Eight teams including Lhouchalie FC, Amigos FC, Sechü Zubza FC, Sechü Zubza FC (Youth), A Yhome FC, A Yhome FC (B), Zasivi FC Jotsoma and Circle FC Meriema, advanced to the quarter finals while Team
MODS failed to qualify after it lost to the other two teams in group A.
Special guest during the inaugural, PA to advisor for Urban Development & Municipal Affairs, Ato Puro in a short speech encouraged the players to give their best and help promote the game.

He pointed out that Nagaland was gradually witnessing a growth in sports and its related infrastructure.
He said State government was making all efforts to promote the sector under the leadership of the chief minister.
Puro encouraged the gathered players to be hardworking, disciplined and focused in the discipline they had chosen.
Puro stressed on the importance of building friendships through sports, which, he said lasts for a person’s lifetime.
Meanwhile, on the sidelines of the event, KDFA president, Matthew Yhome said the association had organised the event to the streamline professional players from the rest in the district and help them grow through the proper channel.
He informed that winner of the championship would be representing the district in the upcoming Nagaland Futsal Championship to be held soon.
Winner of the championship will walk away with a cash prize of Rs 30,000 along with trophy, certificates and citations while the runner up team will receive Rs 20,000 along with certificates and citations.
The group matches were decided from a game time of 20 minutes each and starting from the quarter finals the matches will be played for a total of 30 minutes each with 5 minutes break.
In the six matches that were played on Friday, “man of the match” prizes were awarded to
Noune Medoze (Lhouchalie FC), Shürhosul Zhotso (Sechü Zubza FC), Kevizakie Ciesotsu (Circle FC), Kevisanyü Peseyie (Zasivi FC), Radove (Team MODS) and Mhasikhotuo (Lhouchalie FC) respectively.
Earlier during the inaugural, invocation was pronounced by CRC, Pezielietsie, pastor, Letuolie Pienyü.
Championship convenor, Dzieseneituo Belho delivered the welcome address while Keneisenuo Amanda Sorhie made a special presentation.


Don't Miss

Must Read