Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Ex-Ind MLAs demand apology

Three former Independent MLAs of the last State Assembly (2003-2008), have demanded “unconditional apology” from Assembly Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie and NPF president Dr. Shurhozelie, for alleged grievous harms inflicted on their dignity and image as public leaders, by denying them the right to vote in the controversial no-confidence motion held on December 13, 2007.
The three former Independent MLAs, Khutovi, Jongshilemba and P Chuba who is also a sitting MLA in a press release stated that the Speaker had “blatantly curtailed” their democratic rights by restraining them to vote against the DAN/NPF government based on a petition filed by the NPF president seeking their disqualification.
Pointing out to the countless hurdles that a candidate had to confront to win and become an MLA, the former Independent MLAs said it was a question of life and death for candidates to become MLAs and that the gravity and extent of getting elected as MLA was known to one and all.
“As such, the Speaker of the Assembly or any other political party leaders cannot casually or whimsically take action against any MLA simply to suit one’s selfish interest or in the interest of one’s political party,” the three said. They also alleged that the “unconstitutional and highhanded” conduct of the Speaker executed at the behest of the NPF president, had adversely affected their political and social standing in their respective constituencies and elsewhere.
Demanding unconditional apology from both Speaker and NPF president within a week’s time, the trio said they would seek legal action if the their demand was not complied with.

More articles