Sunday, February 25, 2024

MCA to host T20 cricket league

Meghalaya Cricket Association (MCA) has planned to host Twenty20 cricket league, comprising teams from all BCCI-affiliated states in North Eastern states. The MCA proposed to host the cricket league from January 19-23 in Shillong involving Meghalaya, the host state, Assam, Tripura, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland. The league will carry a prize money of Rs 3 lakh. “The MCA is also trying to get a few former international cricketers to represent the different teams,” MCA secretary, Naba Bhattacharjee said. He said the move will not only prove to be a shot in the arm for cricket in the region but also provide teams like Assam and Tripura with a good “dress rehearsal” ahead of the BCCI East Zone Twenty20 tournament to be held in Guwahati in March next year. Both are representing the North East this year in the Ranji Trophy and are currently placed at fourth and fifth respectively, among the six teams in Group B of the Plate League. Correspondent

More articles