Sunday, February 25, 2024

News in brief

Awards for sports persons
Dimapur, Jan 19 (NPN): State Government will give away the cash prizes to the state medal winners in various sports discipline at a felicitation programme on January 23, at 11 am at State Banquet Hall. According to official bulletin, State chief minister, Neiphiu Rio and parliamentary secretary YRS will grace the occasion as chief guest and guest of honour respectively. The programme is organized by Department of Youth Resources and Sports, Nagaland.
SASA sports meet from Jan 21
Dimapur, Jan 19 (NPN): A three day, 47th Southern Angami Sports Association (SASA) meet would commence from January 21 at Jakhama village ground. Minister for Roads & Bridges, G. Kaito Ayeh and MLA & Advisor IT&TE Vikho-o Yhoshü will grace the occasion as chief guest and guest of honour respectively. The sports meet events will include free style wrestling, football and volleyball.
Champions Cup from today
Kohima, Jan 19 (NPN): Ten teams will take part in the Kohima Champions Cup, 2009 starting on Tuesday at Kohima, organized by United Friends Society, Lower PWD, Kohima. The teams are PWD, KVSA, AG (T.T), Bayavii, Electrical, Merhulietsa, Peraciezie, O.M. Hill, Dziiviiru and Kezikie. The final is slated for January 25. On Tuesday (January 20) PWD will clash with KVSA in the opening encounter.
6th Eagles Trophy 2009
Dimapur, Jan 19 (NPN): Eagles A clinched the 6th Eagles Trophy 2009, after defeating Ground Zero Tseminyu, Kohima by 3-0, in the final match played at KSU Ground, Tseminyu. According to president Eagles Club Kandinu station, Senenlo Kath the best player was awarded to Joses Magh of Ground Zero and the first hat trick Ehunu and Yekhanu XI, while the best discipline team was bagged by Tsaphimi Sports Association. The trophy is an bi-annually event organized by Eagles Club Kandinu Station, Tseminyu Kohima. This year the tournament was held on the theme, “Change with passion”, with CAO GPRN Rengma region, Shiuto Rengma as chief guest and PA to ADC, Pikhato Kath as guest of honour respectively at the closing ceremony. Meanwhile, the organizer has expressed dismay towards Sishunu Youth Club, defending champion for not participating in the tournament.

More articles