Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Do not mix politics and religion: M’laya CM

Meghalaya Chief Minister Donkupar Roy today expressed concern over rival parties using religion to gain political mileage in the Umroi Assembly by-election.
Campaigning for his party candidate George B Lyngdoh, the United Democratic Party (UDP) President said mixing politics and religion would only divide communities and advised the political party(s) to refrain from divisive politics.
The Chief Minister statement came after some of the Congress members made inflammatory speeches against the Meghalaya Progressive Alliance (MPA) coalition government for having an alliance with the BJP.
“We are a small community. Political parties must refrain from adopting divisive politics on religious lines,” Roy said, without naming the Congress at an election rally here.
Accusing the Congress of using money power to lure the voters during the bye-polls, the Chief Minister said “Don’t get swayed by the Congress money power for your better tomorrow.”
On the other hand, the Congress attacked the UDP and the MPA coalition government of using all means to lure its supporters within its fold.
Charging the ruling alliance of using money power to win the coming Umroi Assembly bye-election, former Chief Minister and Congress leader DD Lapang cautioned the electorates of Umroi not to be enticed by money being used by political parties.
“You should not become scapegoats of money,” Lapang said without naming any political party.
Alleging that his opponents are using money to buy peoples votes, the Congress candidate urged the people not to be swayed away by the money power.
The Umroi by-election is crucial for both the Nationalist Congress Party-backed Meghalaya Progressive Alliance (MPA) government as the coalition has a thin majority with 32 legislators in an Assembly with effective strength of 59 legislators in a 60-member House.
The Donkupar Roy-led MPA government is supported by NCP (15), United Democratic Party (10) Hill State People’s Democratic Party (2), one each from Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement and Bharatiya Janata Party and three Independent legislators.

More articles