Tuesday, February 20, 2024

ENPO and Centre likely to sign final pact for autonomous body before monsoon Parl session

Staff Reporter

With the Centre proposing to grant ‘autonomous council’ for the six eastern districts of Nagaland– Tuensang, Mon, Longleng, Kiphire, Shamator and Noklak, hectic parleys were on before signing the final agreement, likely to take place before the monsoon session of the Parliament.
A meeting in this regard was held at Dimapur on Saturday, attended by Eastern Nagaland Peoples’ Organisation members, Eastern Nagaland Legislator’s Union, apex tribal bodies of the region, talk team members and frontal organizations. Sources privy to the meeting said that the members were briefed about the contents of the agreement between Government of India and ENPO.
As reported in February this year, the demand for separate Frontier Nagaland was resolved after hectic parleys between ENPO and the government of India that led to agreement for a ‘Frontier Naga Territory’ for Eastern Nagaland areas. However, sources said that they were yet to finalize the nomenclature of the new arrangement among certain issues that needed to be resolved.
Though no further details were known, it was learnt that ENPO officials were likely to hold another round of talks with the MHA committee members soon and also to finalise date for signing the final agreement.
It may also be mentioned that the state government has convened a consultative meeting on June 30, to deliberate on the provisions of the proposed proposal of the Centre for constitution of an ‘autonomous council’ for the six eastern districts.


More articles