Sunday, February 25, 2024

Govt approves ‘in-principle’ setting up 21 new Greenfield Airports

Spl. Correspondent

Government of India has accorded ‘In-Principle’ approval for setting up of 21 new Greenfield Airports across the country.
Government has formulated a Greenfield Airports (GFA) Policy, 2008 for development of new Greenfield airports in the country. As per the policy, if any developer including the State Government desired to develop an airport, they are required to identify a suitable site and get the Pre-feasibility Study conducted for construction of airport and submit a proposal to the Central Government for ‘Site Clearance’ followed by ‘In-Principle’ approval. In a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha on Friday, Minister of State in the Ministry of Civil Aviation Gen. (Dr) V. K. Singh (Retd) said that the 21 Greenfield Airports include Mopa in Goa, Navi Mumbai, Shirdi and Sindhudurg in Maharashtra, Kalaburagi, Vijayapura, Hassan and Shivamogga in Karnataka, Dabra (Gwalior) in Madhya Pradesh, Kushinagar and Noida (Jewar) in Uttar Pradesh, Dholera and Hirasar in Gujarat, Karaikal in Puducherry, Dagadarthi, Bhogapuram and Orvakal (Kurnool) in Andhra Pradesh, Durgapur in West Bengal, Pakyong in Sikkim, Kannur in Kerala and Hollongi (Itanagar) in Arunachal Pradesh across the country. Out of 21, 11 Greenfield airports viz. Durgapur, Shirdi, Kannur, Pakyong, Kalaburagi, Orvakal (Kurnool), Sindhudurg, Kushinagar, Itanagar, Mopa and Shivamogga have been operationalised.


More articles