Saturday, February 24, 2024

AFSPA extended in parts of Nagaland for 6 months

The Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, under which an area is declared as “disturbed” for the convenience of security forces, was on Tuesday extended in some parts of Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh. AFSPA has been in force in a few districts and police station areas in both Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh for many years now and it is extended periodically.

In a notification, the home ministry said the central government had declared eight districts and 21 police stations in five other districts of Nagaland as “disturbed area” for a period of six months with effect from April 1, 2023 through a notification on March 24, 2023. A further review of the law and order situation in Nagaland has been undertaken, it said.

“Now, therefore, Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek and Peren districts in Nagaland and the areas in Nagaland falling within the jurisdiction of i) Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza and Kezocha police stations in Kohima District; ii) Mangkolemba, Mokokchung-I, Longtho, Tuli, Longchem and Anaki ‘C’ police stations in Mokokchung District; iii) Yanglok police station in Longleng District; iv) Bhandari, Champang and Ralan police stations in Wokha District; and v) Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhuto, Zunheboto and Aghunato police stations in Zunheboto District, are declared as ‘disturbed area’ under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 for a period of six months with effect from 01.10.2023, unless withdrawn earlier,” the notification read. An area or district is notified as a disturbed area under the AFSPA to facilitate the operations of the armed forces.


More articles