Tuesday, October 3, 2023

CDGU forms constituent body

Chümoukedima District Gorkha Union (CDGU), which would function under the supervision and guidance of Nagaland Gorkha Association as a constituent body, was formed on September 17, at Singrijan Village Council Hall Chümoukedima.

Gopal Lama of Chümoukedima Town has been selected as the president, Nanda Kumar Pradhan of Singrijan Village and Sambu BK of Medziphema as vice presidents, John Dornal Chettri of Tenyiphe was appointed general secretary and Dhananjay Mishra of Khopanala Village as treasurer.

A press release from information secretary CDGU informed that the Union was formed under the initiative of Chümoukedima Gorkha Union, Singrijan and Khopanala Village Council, Medziphema Gorkha Union, Chümoukedima Village Gorkha Union, Kirha Village Gorkha Union, Seithekema Basa Gorkha Union, 5th Mile model Village Gorkha Union, Seithekema C Gorkha Union, Seithekema A Gorkha Union, Tenyiphe Gorkha Union & Dhansaripar Gorkha Union to maintain the co-operation, harmony, good-will and to promote unity and equality of status amongst the Gorkha/Nepali of Chümoukedima district.

At the meeting, head GB, Singrijan and Khopanala Village Tezu Pradhan and vice president, Nagaland Gorkha Association Suraj Rai, encouraged the Gorkha community residing within Chümoukedima district to be hard working and responsible for achieving the union’s goal. The programme was chaired by general secretary of Gorkha Students’ Union Chümoukedima district Ajay Thapa.


Don't Miss