Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Centre gets extension to frame CAA rules for 7th time

The Rajya Sabha committee has accepted the Centre’s request for six more months to frame rules under the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) for the seventh time in a row.
The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) said that more time was needed to frame the rules of the Act, without which it could not be implemented. The decision of the Lok Sabha committee is still awaited.
According to sources, the time was extended by the Parliamentary Committee on Subordinate Legislation in the Rajya Sabha till December 31, 2022 and in the Lok Sabha till January 9, 2023. Sources said that the MHA sought an extension of six months, on which the Rajya Sabha committee extended it till June 30.
According to the Manual on Parliamentary Work, a Ministry shall “request an extension of time from the Committee on Subordinate Legislation expressing grounds for such extension” if it is unable to prepare the rules regulating a law within the required period of six months following the signing.
While attending a programme in November, last year, Union Home Minister Amit Shah said that there had been a delay in implementing the Act due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
He added that the CAA would definitely be implemented and those who thought otherwise would be proved wrong.
The Act was passed by Parliament on December 11, 2019 and got the President’s assent the very next day, following which it was notified by the Union Home Ministry.
About 83 persons died and several were injured in the protests against this law in the country. Significantly, through the Citizenship Amendment Act , the Central government will grant Indian citizenship to the illegal migrants who entered India before or on December 31, 2014.
It was passed for the migrants of non-Muslim communities, including Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis and Christians from Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
It may be noted that the tribal areas of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram or Tripura as included in the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution and the States of Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland and Manipur are exempted from provisions of the Act.

Must Read