Monday, February 6, 2023

DEOs, police issue orders related to ensuing polls

In connection with the announcement of General Election to the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly 2023 by the Election Commission of India dated January 18, Deputy Commissioners and Districts Election Officers of various districts have issued a range of orders related to the upcoming state assembly polls.
Kohima: The DC & DEO Kohima has notified that the constitution of District Level Standing Committee (DLSC) for Model Code of Conduct (MCC) would be as such; Convener; DC & DEO Kohima, Superintendent of Police, SDO (C) Hq. & Nodal Officer (MCC), all ROs/AROs Kohima district, administrator KMC, EEM Nodal Officer, president and general secretary of recognized political parties, Kohima, president & two representatives Angami Public Organization, president & two representatives, Angami Miapfu Mechu Krotho (AMK), president & two representatives, Angami Youth Organization Assistant Election Officer as the members of the committee.
According to a DIPR report, the notification also stated that the Committee shall meet from time to time, as and when required to discuss issues relating to free, fair and peaceful conduct of the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly Election, 2023. The first meeting of the Committee will be held on January 20 at 3:30 PM in the Conference Hall of the Deputy Commissioner, Kohima.
All concerned have been requested to make it convenient to attend the meeting positively.
Tseminyu: Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer Tseminyu, Dr. Zasekuolie Chusi (IAS) has notified that in compliance to directives of Election Commission of India, there will be a one day training cum orientation program on Election Expenditure Monitoring (EEM) and Model Code of Conduct (MCC) for all the officials, team members of the Election Expenditure Monitoring Committee (EEMC) and political parties/ intending candidates for 12th Tseminyu Assembly on January 20 in the office chamber of Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer, Tseminyu from 11 am onwards
In this connection, all the officials and teams of EEMC have been directed to attend the training without fail and no leave of absence will be entertained. All political party/candidates intending to contest the upcoming elections are required to nominate their expenditure agents to attend the said training cum orientation program positively.
Mokokchung: The Deputy Commissioner and DEO Mokokchung in a notification constituted the following members in order to ensure observation the model code of conduct (MCC) and smooth conduct of the general election to the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly 2023.
The District Level Standing Committee constitutes the following members; Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer, Superintendent of Police Mokokchung, Kelengunuo Solo, EAC Ongpangkong, DPRO Mokokchung, president /secretary /representatives of all political parties, Assistant Election Officer.
It has also been informed that the first meeting of the committee has been convened on January 20 at DC’s conference hall at 1pm. All the members have been requested to attend the meeting without fail.
DC & DEO Mokokchung has also implemented the Model Code of Conduct within the districtand will be in force till the completion of the General Election.
Longleng: Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer, Longleng, Dharam Raj has informed to all concerned that the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into force with immediate effect throughout Longleng district till culmination of the election process.
All the political parties, intending candidates, government departments/establishment and general public of Longleng district are informed to take note of the same and adhere strictly to the Model Code of Conduct and extend cooperation to the election machinery to ensure peaceful conduct of the said election.
Dimapur: Deputy Commissioner & DEO Dimapur, Sachin Jaiswal IAS has cautioned that very strict action would be initiated with show cause notice, in case of any election duty lapses by any government employees serving under Dimapur district.
According to a DIPR report, the Deputy Commissioner said this while briefing the Flying Squad team today, January 19, in the conference hall of DC Dimapur. With the announcement of poll dates, the Model Code of Conduct has been enforced and the flying squad under Dimapur district has been activated.
Sachin directed the flying squad team to be in their respective areas of operation/ assignment and to be vigilant at all times by working out a rotation basis chart.
In the meeting, ADC & RO for Dimapur 1 and II, MhaloHumtsoe advised the officials to go through the MCC guidelines and be thorough on how to go about in their assigned election duties for successful conduct of the State Assembly elections.
Dimapur Police: Commissioner of Police and District Magistrate Kevithuto Sophie, IPS, in a press release has prohibited any person from carrying arms (firearms, machete/daos, clubs, Spears, explosives, catapults or any other articles designed or adopted as weapon for offence or defense) in their possession within the District of Dimapur/Chumoukedima/Niuland with immediate effect.
It was also informed that the order has been passed ex-parte due to emergent exigencies and shall remain in force till further notice.

Previous article
Next article
Must Read