Friday, March 24, 2023

ENSF announces ‘mass public walkathon’

Eastern Naga Students’ Federation (ENSF) has announced “mass public walkathon movement” across all administrative headquarters across Eastern Nagaland from October 7.
This was resolved during an emergency Federal Assembly convened at Anatongre village in Shamator district on Tuesday in solidarity with Eastern Nagaland People’s Organisation’s August 26, 2022 resolution calling on the people to abstain from participating in any election process in the backdrop of demand for Frontier Nagaland.
ENSF information and publicity secretary Keyoungkhum Yimkhiung said the federation and tribunals with seven federating units held a lengthy deliberation over the ENPO resolution and decided to organise mass public walkathons as the first phase of agitation. The Assembly endorsed seven tribal federating units of ENSF– CWS, KSU (Konyak), KSU (Khiamniungan), PSC, TSU, USSC and YAA– to amalgamate village level clusters in respective tribal jurisdictions to embark the movement.
During the walkathons, the background and genesis of Frontier Nagaland statehood demand would be expounded in respective tribal languages.
The Assembly further warned that in the backdrop of Frontier Nagaland Statehood demand, if any organisation or individual from any frontal organisation tried to jeopardise the demand for Frontier Nagaland, ENSF would initiate a stringent action against them.
Meanwhile, former ENSF president Hawang T Wangsha enlightened the congregation about the chronology of the demand for Frontier Nagaland and encouraged the federation to remain steadfast in pursuit of August 26 ENPO resolution.
In his presidential address, ENSF president Chingmak Kumchuba Chang acknowledged the seven federating units for their consistent support and appealed for robust implementation of the resolution.
He asked them to remain vigil and be prepared for further course of actions to be initiated by the federation.
The programme began with invocation prayer from Anatongre Baptist Church pastor YL Tsinthong, followed by welcome address by ENSF general secretary Khamo P Khaim. Words of gratitude were delivered by Tikhir Students’ Union president Temong.


Don't Miss

Must Read