Saturday, March 25, 2023

First Belt Wrestling Championship held in Dimapur

Staff Reporter

The first Belt Wrestling Championship organized by Nagaland Wrestling Association (NWA) was held at Multi-Disciplinary Sports Complex (MDSC), Dimapur on Friday, making it a historic day for any tournament to be organised officially in the MDSC, even though the complex was far from completion.
Addressing the gathering as the special guest, president, Tenyimi Peoples Organization (TPO), advocate, Timikha Koza, stated that wrestling is one of the oldest sports in the world and reminded that wrestling was not a violent, but a sport that was eminent for its discipline, commitment, dedication, self-control and hard work.
He hoped that wrestling as a sport would act as a way for Nagas to bury their recent bitterness and past differences and focus on coming together.
He noted that Nagas are one and should always foster brotherhood, develop friendship, love each other and take forward the unity of Nagas.
While congratulating the NWA for taking forward wrestling outside of Kohima and holding in Dimapur, he urged all Nagas to make wrestling as an inclusive sport in the Naga society and also invite others to come and work together so as to foster unity.
Koza also spoke on how wrestling was used as a means in settling issues in the past, further pointing that Naga tradition is always pure, sincere and honest and expressed hope that wrestling would be an emerging factor for peace and prosperity.
Meanwhile, word of greeting was delivered by member of All India Traditional Wrestling & Pankration Federation, while presidential address was delivered by president, NWA, Dr Hiabe Zeliang.
Earlier, the programme was chaired by publicity & information secretary, NWA, C Theyo, invocation was offered by lead pastor, Chakhesang Baptist Church Dimapur, Rev P Bonny Resu, and lightening of championship torch was carried out by NWA open reigning champion, Venuzo Dawhuo.
Highlights of the programme included special number by Lungyibuina Haihing, and pledge for the participants initiated by co-opted technical secretary, NWA, Kikhwesül Thokhwe. A total of 104 competitors participated for the first ever Belt Wrestling Championship, of which 11 women will be competing in four separate categories.
Winners’ list of all categories in Belt Wrestling Championship
Men’s category
100+ kg – Kezhaseluo Pienyü
100 kg – Serayi Tetseo
85 kg – Kevizhakho Suokhrie
76 kg – Keneiselie Khawakhrie
65 kg – Seyiezhatuo Sano
59 kg – Rhiwe Wetsa
54 kg – Kezevikho Sachü
49 kg- Tsuhveto Resuh
Women’s category
63+ kg – L Chitambala Devi
63 kg – Mhasivino Kuotso
57 kg – Vekhonielu Cürhah
53 kg – Razousano Puro
49 kg – Nosezonu Kuotsu


Don't Miss

Must Read