Friday, March 24, 2023

First session of the 14th Assembly from today

The nine-day budget session of the new Nagaland Assembly (14th NLA) will commence its first session on Monday, officials said.
Pro-tem speaker Mhathung Yanthan will administer the oath to the newly elected members, which would be followed by the election of the new speaker.
Governor La Ganesan will deliver his maiden address to the House on Tuesday. Discussion on the motion of thanks on the governor’s address will be held on Thursday and Friday.
Chief minister Neiphiu Rio, minister in-charge of finance, will present the Budget 2023-24 on March 27 while it would be taken up for passing the next day, a provisional programme approved by the Business Advisory Committee of the assembly.
Meanwhile, the assembly is likely to take up the discussion of the conduct of the elections to Urban Local Bodies after almost two decades.
Other businesses of the session include laying of annual administrative reports of various government departments, Comptroller Auditor General of India and passing of government bills.
It may be mentioned that the current House also has the highest number of political parties’ representatives in the state’s history.
The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has seven MLAs, the National People’s Party (NPP) five legislators, the Naga People’s Front (NPF), Lok Jan Shakti (Ram Vilas) and Republican Party of India (Athawale) two each, while the JD(U) has one member and four are Independent MLAs.

Sharingain set to become NLA Speaker
Outgoing Speaker of the 13th NLA, Sharingain Longkumer is all set to be re-elected as the Speaker of the newly constituted 14th NLA as he was the only candidate who had filed his nomination paper till the last date.
In a statement, NLA secretary in-charge Khruohituonuo Rio said that the Secretariat had received only one nomination till the last date of filing of nomination papers for the post of speaker of the 14th NLA.
Sharingain’s candidature was proposed by minister and BJP president Temjen Imna Alongand seconded by adviser Kekhrielhoulie Yhome. It may be recalled that NDPP had inadvertently tweeted that Yhome “signed nomination papers for the election of speaker”, NLA.
Tovihoto appointed as BJP chief whip
State BJP president Temjen Imna Along has appointed H Tovihoto Ayemi, MLA as the chief whip of the BJP to the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly. The decision was unanimously made by the BJP legislators on March 19 at the meeting held at the residence of deputy CM Y Patton.


Don't Miss

Must Read