Friday, March 31, 2023

Four BJP leaders, former SC judge among 6 new Govs

The President also appointed six new faces as governors, including retired Supreme Court judge S Abdul Nazeer, who was part of the historic 2019 Ayodhya verdict, and four BJP leaders, besides carrying out a rejig of the gubernatorial posts in seven states.
According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan spokesperson, President Murmu accepted the resignations of Bhagat Singh Koshyari and R K Mathur as the governor of Maharashtra and the lieutenant governor of Ladakh respectively. Ramesh Bais, who was the governor of Jharkhand, has been appointed governor of Maharashtra, the official said. It was not immediately known what reasons prompted Mathur’s resignation. Mathur has been facing stiff opposition led by noted education reformist Sonam Wangchuk in the three-year-old Union territory.
The President appointed Governor of Arunachal Pradesh Brig BD Mishra (retd) in his place, the spokesperson said.
Justice Nazeer, a former Supreme court judge, according to the spokesperson, was appointed as the new governor of Andhra Pradesh. The incumbent, Biswa Bhusan Harichandan, has been shifted to Chhattisgarh. Justice Nazeer, who retired on January 4, has been part of several path-breaking verdicts, including those on the politically sensitive Ayodhya land dispute, instant ‘triple talaq’ and the one that declared ‘right to privacy’ a fundamental right.
Elevated as an apex court judge on February 17, 2017, Justice Nazeer was part of several Constitution benches which delivered judgements on issues ranging from the demonetisation of currency notes of Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 denominations in 2016 to the reservation for Marathas in admission and government jobs and the fundamental right of freedom of speech and expression of high public functionaries.
He was part of a five-judge Constitution bench which had in November 2019 cleared the way for the construction of a Ram Temple at the disputed site at Ayodhya and directed the Centre to allot a five-acre plot to the Sunni Waqf Board for a mosque.
The Justice Nazeer-led five-judge Constitution benches delivered two separate verdicts this year, including the one which by a majority of 4:1 validated the legality of the Centre’s 2016 decision to demonetise the
Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 denomination currency notes, saying the decision-making process was neither flawed nor hasty.
The President also appointed Lt Gen Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik (retd) as governor of Arunachal Pradesh.
Lt Gen Parnaik (retd) served as commander of the Army’s prestigious Northern Command, and it was during his tenure that bodies of two soldiers were mutilated by the Pakistani forces in Poonch sector in 2013.
Four BJP leaders, including two from Uttar Pradesh, were also appointed as new governors.
Lakshman Prasad Acharya, CP Radhakrishnan, Shiv Pratap Shukla and Gulab Chand Kataria have been appointed as governors of Sikkim, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Assam respectively.
While Acharya is a member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, Radhakrishnan is a two-time Lok Sabha member of the BJP from Coimbatore. He was the man behind forging the BJP-led NDA alliance in 1999.
Former minister of state for finance Shukla was the BJP’s candidate in Rajya Sabha and retired in 2022, whereas Kataria is the sitting Leader of Opposition in Rajasthan Assembly. Kataria had served as the home minister in the previous Vasundhara Raje government.
Other than Bais, Mishra and Harichandan, the other transfers included the shifting Phagu Chauhan from Bihar to Meghalaya and Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar from Himachal Pradesh to Bihar.


Don't Miss

Chief Secretary reviews B20 meet preparations

Chief Secretary, J Alam held a review meeting for the preparations of B20 Business Meet in Kohima at Civil Secretariat Kohima on March 30.According...

Zeliang, Metsubo thank supporters

A thanksgiving progarmmes for the newly elected MLAs- T. R. Zeliang (7 Peren A/C) and Metsubo Jamir (27 Mokokchung town A/C) was held on...

CDPO Jakhama observes Poshan Pakhwada 2023

As part of the ongoing nationwide 5th Poshan Pakhwada, office of the CDPO Jakhama along with convergent departments organised “anemia camp-cum-poshan panchayat” at Pfuchima...

Relief handed to Mao fire victims

Mao, NN and T Khel Market Relief Committee on Thursday extended cash relief to the building owners, vendors and tenants affected by the fire...

KSU serves 15-day ultimatum on govt

Konyak Students’ Union (KSU) has served a 15-day ultimatum on the state government to provide assurance that Model Science College Wakching would become functional...

No chopper service from April 4 to 6

Nagaland State Transport (NST) department has notified that state helicopter service would remain requisitioned on standby from April 4-6, 2023 in connection with upcoming...
Must Read