Sunday, November 27, 2022

IRONMAN 70.3 Goa: Nihal Baig flies away with title

In an exciting finish, IIT Bombay Alumni, Nihal Baig pipped defending champion Bisworjit Saikhom of the Indian Army to win the second edition of IRONMAN 70.3 Goa, which was flagged off at the Miramar Beach, Panaji by Goa’s Chief Minister Pramod Sawant on Sunday.
Over 1450 participants added to the fervor of the race which is a qualifying event for the IRONMAN World Championships and participants were required to complete a grueling 1.9km open sea swim, 90 km cycling and 21 km running.
Baig, who works as an aerospace engineer with MSCI Mumbai, overtook Saikhom in the last 7 km of the 21 km run after trailing behind in the open water swim (1.9km) and the 90km cycling.
Ecstatic after finishing overall first with an impressive time of 4 hours 29 minutes and 45 seconds, Baig said, “Last time I finished second in the first edition of IRONMAN 70.3 Goa, so it feels good to finish ahead of Saikhom this time. My swim is a little weak but my running is fast and in the previous edition I could cover up to 7 minutes in running so I knew I could overtake him in the run.”
Having completed five half-IRONMAN races so far, Baig said this is among the most challenging races he has participated in. “I think the uphill cycle course and the elevation in the running course makes this a very challenging race but I really enjoy the atmosphere here in Goa,” he said.
Meanwhile, Bishworjit clocked 04:37.21 to finish overall second while 40-year-old Pankaj Dhiman of Delhi finished third clocking 04:40:41.
Among the women, Catjin Schierbeek of Switzerland finished first with the time of 05:10:46 while Tim Tim Sharma of India finished behind her clocking 05:23:21 and Ketaki Sathe (05:46.51) finished overall third in the women’s category.
In the relay, teams formed by the Indian Air Force as part of Yoska’s Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav initiative clinched the top three places. TI Adventure clocked 04:29:02 while the second place went to T Services (04:32:22) and third place to TIAF Team (04:32:28).
Results Overall:

  1. Nihal Baig (India): 04:29:45
  2. Bishworjit Saikhom (India): 04:37:21
  3. Pankaj Dhiman (India): 04:40:41
  4. P Ravalu (India): 04:41:36
  5. A Kandikuppa (Singapore): 04:42:50
  6. Pablo Erat (Switzerland): 04:44:25
  7. Marcel King (Belgium): 04:45:23
  8. MS Arafat (Bangladesh): 04:52:14
  9. Farai Dalu (Zimbabwe): 05:00:46
  10. Ujjwal Anand (India): 05:01:39
    Top five (women):
  11. Catjin Schierbeek (Switzerland): 05:10:46
  12. Tim Tim Sharma (India): 05:23:21
  13. Ketaki Sathe (India): 05:46:51
  14. Srivani Y. V. (India): 06:07:39
  15. Su Yin Ong (India): 06:14:23.
Must Read