Thursday, June 1, 2023

Manipur observes National Voters’ Day

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Manipur joined the countrywide observance of the 12th National Voters’ Day (NVD) under the theme, ‘Making Elections Inclusive, Accessible, and Participative’ on Tuesday.
A function held in Imphal’s City Convention Centre, was attended by chief secretary D Rajesh Kumar, Director General of Police (DGP) P Doungel and CEO Manipur Rajesh Agrawal among others.
In his address, state chief secretary Dr Rajesh Kumar who stressed on the importance of voters and election in democracy, said, “It is the decision of the voters that will decide the kind of government for the next five years. In this context, it is our responsibility to take careful decisions in exercising our votes and selecting the right candidate.”
He further said that the Election Commission of India (ECI) has carried out many reforms for proper conduct of elections and that as a responsible citizen it was his duty to inform the election machinery of any malpractices, inducement, or violation of model code of conduct.
He urged electors to come out in large numbers and cast their valuable votes and pledge for a free and fair election.
To ensure a COVID safe election, he also appealed to the voters to come forward for vaccination.
State CEO Rajesh Agrawal who spoke on the progress of the election process of the country since its inception, said that such concerted efforts have made the electoral process truly “inclusive, accessible and participative.”
He asserted that the entire election machinery has unified and geared up to ensure free, fair, peaceful and participative elections in the ensuing state Assembly election, 2022.
As a part of the occasion, a photo exhibition on the SVEEP campaign was formally opened by the state chief secretary.
The main highlights of the function were administering of National Voters’ Day pledge, presentation of newly enrolled voters with badges and EPIC, felicitation of SVEEP State Icons, launching of video on Ethical Voting, PwD and Video screening on SVEEP campaigns and distribution of various awards.
On the occasion, District Election Officer (DEO) Imphal West, Shri Th Kirankumar, DEO Chandel Mayanglambam Rajkumar and DEO Churachandpur Pawan Yadav received the Star DEO Award.
Electoral Registration Officers (EROs) of Khurai AC of Imphal East, Patsoi AC of Imphal West, Bishnupur AC of Bishnupur district, Lilong AC and Wangjing Tentha AC of Thoubal and Churachandpur AC of Churachandpur district bagged the Star ERO Award. BLOs of Churachandpur AC, Tamei AC, Thongju AC, Tamenglong AC, Karong AC and Thangmeiband AC received the Star BLO award.
Winners of State Level Ballot Battle Quiz Competition were also felicitated.
Additional CEO N Praveen Singh, joint CEO Ramananda Nongmeikapam, Joint CEO Md S Daulat Khan and concerned officers and officials also attended the celebration.
The day was also celebrated at district levels across 16 districts of the state.


Scorching months ahead

Savagery in Delhi

Don't Miss