Monday, March 20, 2023

MHA panel to visit ENPO area on Dec 16

Staff Reporter

As reported in this newspaper, a three-member committee constituted by the Home ministry, headed by advisor (North East), AK Mishra will be arriving Tuensang on December 16 to hold consultations and study the demand for Frontier Nagaland state by Eastern Nagaland People’s Organisation (ENPO).
The other members of the team include- Joint Director Intelligence Bureau Dr. Mandeep Singh Tuli and MHA director North East Division, AK Dhyani.
During their visit (December 16-18), the central team will hold a series of meetings with ENPO and the Talk team including leaders of the seven tribal bodies, Eastern Nagaland Women’s Organisation (ENWO) and Eastern Naga Students’ Federation (ENSF).
The Central team will also hold joint meetings with GBs, DBs, senior citizens and with the DC/SP and other state government officials.
On December 18, the team is also expected to visit International Trade Centre (ITS) DAN Pangsha in Noklak district along the Indo-Myanmar border area and then head to Kohima.
Meanwhile, the ENPO has also convened the Central Executive Council meeting on December 19 at CKS Hall, Tuensang.
As reported, the Central team will submit its report and after which Union Home minister Amit Shah is expected to visit Eastern Nagaland in January 2023.
On December 6, ENPO, after meeting with Shah, had informed that the home minister had “highlighted a clear roadmap for amicable, legislative and sustainable solution for Eastern Nagaland, which will include consultation with the people of Eastern Nagaland and Nagaland State government.”
Amit Shah, when he visits eastern Nagaland in January 2023, is expected to make some announcement of the Centre’s decision on ENPO demand.
It may be recalled that in support of the demand for Frontier Nagaland state, ENPO resolved not to take part in any election process of the Central and State and also banned any election-related campaign by any party and candidature declaration programme in their respective jurisdictions
It may be noted that there are 20 assembly constituencies under six districts of eastern Nagaland.
Official sources told Nagaland Post that election process will be initiated after the Election Commission announces the poll schedule.


Don't Miss

Must Read