Monday, February 6, 2023

Mhathung inaugurates SDH office at Sanis

Advisor for Horticulture & Border Affairs, Mhathung Yanthan on Monday, inaugurated the sub-division horticulture (SDH) office at Sanis under Wokha district.
At the programme, Mhathung urged upon the department to let the people enjoy the fruit and to let the aspirations of the people to be fulfilled through the dedication of the department’s officials.
He said the government was dedicated under the vision and determination of chief minister Neiphiu Rio to build the economy of the society through various agricultural and farming programmes, however, he said less could be achieved due to the pandemic.
Mhathung said the government was striving to “achieve maximum development in tapping the available natural resources”, and lamented that Wokha district was the land of plenty however, the district had not yield to its potential.
In this regard, he urged upon the farmers and people of the district to dedicate and up-skill various techniques in cultivation, to do away with traditional methods and settle with permanent cultivation.
He said that the government has acknowledged the potential in various districts where 11 subdivision horticulture offices were approved and some were yet to be inaugurated.
Pointing out that Sanis had the potential to become a good township, the advisor called on the people to come together and build the township with a sense of belongingness.
He disclosed that various developmental programmes were in the pipeline in order to help the people achieve and receive the best facilities like the rest of the district sub-divisions.
In her address, commissioner & secretary, Horticulture & Women Resource Development, Anenla T. Sato encouraged the people to give due importance to the new establishment and make use of it to build a sustainable economy as Sanis was one among the achievers in receiving a sub-division office.
The programme was chaired by director of Horticulture, Dr. R. Elithung Lotha, dedication was offered by pastor, Hajang Baptist Church, Khodao Mozhui, SDO (C) and in-charge additional deputy commissioner, Sanis Rongsenmenla delivered welcome address, Hajang cultural group presented a special number while shor speeches were delivered by NDPP Nagaland, Dr. John Murry, head GB, Sanis Town Khonthungo Odyuo and others. Later, vote of thanks was proposed by DHO Wokha Aoimrong Aier.

Must Read