Monday, November 28, 2022

Nagaland: ANPSA 2nd state level literary competition

All Nagaland Private Schools’ Association (ANPSA) central, organised the 2nd state level literary competition at Kohima on October 20, in the NBCC Platinum Hall Kohima with extra assistant commissioner (EAC) Abeinuo Jasmine Ashao as special guest in the grand finale.
In a press release, ANPSA stated that during the grand finale, ANPSA central president, Nini Sekhose in the presidential greetings, underlined the significance of co-curricular activities in education.
She stated that apart from academics, schools provide different opportunities to students which helped them find their niche in life. Activities such as the literary competitions, math olympiads and physical sports show us the high level of analytical and critical thinking skills that students are capable of, she stated.
Special guest, EAC Abeinuo Jasmine Ashao said during her school days, she participated in a science exhibition organised by ANPSA through which she came to know of the importance of co-curricular activities. In this regard, she advised the students to think positively and to read more books. Earlier, a double quartet was presented by Mezhür Higher Secondary School, Kohima.
The competitions (quiz and extempore speech) were participated by students from nine different districts units. Altogether, 17 teams (two teams from each district unit) participated in the quiz while 25 students from 25 different schools across nine districts participated in the extempore speech competition. The inaugural programme was led by member of Literary Committee Kaikhü Achumi, invocation was offered by ANPSA central advisor Imlongchaba while State Teachers Award recipient 2022, N Adarhü exhorted the students.
Winners of the quiz contest were—Lokhemi Achumi and Chothanu Kharutso of Little Flower Higher Secondary School, Kohima, Kohima Unit (first); Manchem Chang and Shahida Sultana of St. Marys Higher Secondary School Dimapur, Dimapur Unit (second) and Ansh Singh and Santosh Nayak of Agape Higher Secondary School Chümoukedima, Chümoukedima Unit (third). A sum of Rs. 10,000, Rs. 8,000 and Rs. 6,000 were presented to the winners along with certificates.
Winners of the extempore speech contest included—Lithang Tungoe of Perennial School Wokha, Wokha Unit (first); Kilini P. Zhimo of Cornerstone Higher Secondary School Zunheboto, Zunheboto Unit (second) and Kekhriesinuo Sekhose of Mezhür Higher Secondary School Kohima, Kohima Unit (third).
The contestants received prize money of Rs. 5,000, Rs. 3,000 and Rs. 2,000 respectively, along with certificates. Each participating unit received a token amount of Rs. 10,000 as sign of appreciation for participating in the competitions. The competition ended with vote of thanks proposed by ANPSA central general secretary, P. J. Nathan.

Must Read