Friday, January 27, 2023

Nagaland beat UP 1-0 in Santosh Trophy

Nagaland football team defeated Uttar Pradesh by a solitary goal to kick start the 76th edition of Hero Santosh Trophy campaign on Wednesday in Kokrajhar, Assam.
Clubbed in the Group III with Goa, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh. Nagaland played their first match on Wednesday of the National Football Championship for Hero Santosh Trophy 2022-23 which started in Assam on December 26.
In the match, Kevisanyü Peseyie headed the lone goal when Kakhevi N Assumi corner found him in the 76th minutes to give Nagaland three points.
The first half saw both team failing to break the deadlock. It was UP dominating the first half with the goalkeeper Neithovilie Chalieu saving the blushes of Nagaland team.
However, the second half saw Nagaland dominating the game but it took time for Nagaland to find the lead. It was K Assumi one of the best wingers from Nagaland that gave Nagaland the scoring chance when Peseyie headed home the only goal in the 76th minute and manage to keep the lead until the final whistle.
Nagaland will still play four more matches with Goa, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh. The matches for group three of the Santosh Trophy will be played from December 28, 2022, to January 5, 2023, as per the statement by the All India Football Federation.
The Senior National Football Championships will be played in a new format that will see the 36 states fight it out across six groups for a chance to make it to the final round. The six group toppers, along with three best second-placed teams will qualify for the final rounds. Railways and Services will get direct entry along with the hosts.

The team is led by coach Mughato Aye, team manager- Akhihito P. Zhimo and physio – Zakieletuo Seletsu. Sinenlo Kath is the captain of Nagaland team.
The players squad are:

  1. Neithovilie Chalieu (Goalkeeper)
  2. Homuka Yeptho (Goalkeeper)
  3. Hekato Aye (Defender)
  4. Hemping Khiamniungan (Defender)
  5. Liang T Khiamniungan (Defender)
  6. Benrithung Humtsoe (Defender)
  7. Sanyem Konyak (Defender)
  8. Ito Ayemi (Defender)
  9. Katoho Chishi (Defender)
  10. Lironthung Lotha (Defender)
  11. Toka A Achumi (Midfielder)
  12. Kuvezo Vero (Midfielder)
  13. Victor Haotinmang Thomsong (Midfielder)
  14. Sinenlo Kath (Midfielder)
  15. Visalie Mezhü (Midfielder)
  16. Kevisanyü Peseyie (Midfielder)
  17. Khiuwangbo Kaurintah (Midfileder)
  18. Pursunep Longkumer (Forward)
  19. Laloureiyang Panmei (Forward)
  20. Kakhevi N Assumi (Forward)
  21. Haileuyibe Iranggau (Forward)
  22. Yhoto Lohe (Forward)
Must Read