Saturday, March 25, 2023

Nagaland: Newly elected members hold thanksgiving services

The newly elected MLAs Y. Patton (BJP), Jacob Zhimomi (BJP), Mhathung Yanthan (NDPP), Sharingain Longkumer (NDPP) and Imkong L. Imchen (BJP) held thanksgiving services on Saturday.
Y Patton: Dy. CM (Home & Border Affairs) and BLP leader, Y. Patton organized a thanksgiving programme as a gesture of appreciation towards the voters of 37 AC at Old Riphyim village in Wokha.
The 4-time consecutive representative from 37 AC, Patton thanked his supporters for their unflinching support and electing him with a huge winning margin. He acknowledged the contribution of Central BJP leaders in his victory.

On his election as BLP leader, Patton expressed his gratitude to the 11 BJP legislators for reposting their faith in him.
The BJP strongman further appealed upon his supporters to forgive and forget the wrongdoings of his opponent during election.
He reminded the gathering that as Dy. CM, his activities and roles cannot be confined to 37 AC and that the supporters should understand the responsibilities he would be shouldering for the whole state.
Patton therefore urged upon his supporters to uphold him and his family in their prayers for good health and divine guidance.
In his speech, Patton lamented the culture of gifting wildlife in Nagaland saying such practices should be discouraged.

The Dy. CM was accompanied by advisor Prisions and Printing & Stationary, Er. Kropol Vitsu.
Former MLA Yankithung Yanthan, ex-candidate Dr. Thungchamo Ezung, Dr. N Mhabemo Kithan, BJP Wokha president Subenthung Kithan and others also spoke on the occasion.
Jacob Zhimomi: PHED and Cooperation minister, Jacob Zhimomi hosted a thanksgiving programme at his private residence, Thilixu village.
Sharing words of gratitude, Zhimomi said that his win in the recently concluded elections was a landmark for him and his family.
Reflecting on his previous win in 2013 as an independent candidate, Zhimomi acknowledged the support of the people that led to his victory.
On the development front, he said that it would be unjustified to put the blame on the previous governments. Zhimomi also spoke about the government’s plans to prioritize transparency and accountability in governance.
The minister informed that with over 1.2 lakh government employees, around 50,000 were contractual and lamented that the figure is well over the required limit. Speaking on the state’s natural resources, Zhimomi expressed regret that they were unable to be exploited due to the unresolved political issue.
Zhimomi also spoke about the importance of reviving the strong bond that Nagas shared before statehood, stating that without it, they wouldn’t have achieved statehood in the first place. The minister urged the Nagas to unite and become one people, emphasizing that cultural growth was a crucial aspect of development alongside infrastructure.

Short speeches were delivered by BJP 4, Ghaspani-I A/C general secretary, Vinson Lotha and Chumoukedima Area GBs Union president, Tokishe Achumi while thanksgiving prayer was offered by WSBAK executive secretary, Rev. Dr. Pughooboto Sema.
The programme was chaired by BJP Ghaspani-1 AC, Kezgaleno Phira (Nino), invocation prayer by Thilixu Baptist Church pastor Rev. Dr. Hokheto Chophy, special song by Azalimi Lejo, Diphupar and Vivi Yepthomi. Benediction was said by Akito village pastor Samuel Assumi. (Staff Reporter)
Mhathung Yanthan: Advisor for Agriculture and Protem Speaker, Mhathung Yanthan held a thanksgiving service at Lakhuti village.
Mhathung Yanthan thanked all the party workers, his supporters as well as church leaders for their supports and prayers. He assured that he will do his level best for the general infrastructure development and people’s livelihood.

Delivering a short speech, president NDPP Wokha Region, John Ezung expressed gratitude to all the NDPP party workers and all the supporters of NDPP for electing Mhathung Yanthan as representative from 39 Sanis A/C.
The NDPP Wokha Region assured support to the leadership of chief minister Neiphiu Rio and NDPP president Chingwang Konyak.
Sharingain Longkumer: Sharingain Longkumer, MLA held a thanksgiving service at Lt I Nungshi Lkr, Darogapathar, Dimapur.
Speaking at the programme, Longkumer thanked 26 Aonglenden AC, well-wishers who had extended their immense support, contribution and cooperation during the electioneering process.
Longkumer, while disclosing that he had filed his nomination for speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly said that his journey as speaker for three years in the last election have been a big challenge trying to deliver the best. He asserted that during the electioneering process, it made him realize the many shortcomings which was indeed a good learning experience.
Whichever assignment, the government thinks fit to allocate him, he assured that will be representing each and everyone in the 14th August house and serve to the best of his ability in the greater interest of the people.
The programme was chaired by Alemwati Jamir, invocation prayer was offered by Ungmatsur Telonjen Dimapur
Short speeches were delivered by Darogapathar Village Council, Aoyimti Village Council, Ongpangkong Senso Telonjem Dimapur, Ao Union Darogapathar, Ungma Senso Telongjem Dimapur and family members.
Later, thanksgiving prayer and benediction was offered by Mangimen Baptist church pastor Marnungba Lkr. (Staff Reporter)
Imkong L. Imchen: The newly elected MLA, Imkong L. Imchen, who contested from 28 Koridang A/C held a thanksgiving service at the Community Hall, Mangmetong Village.
According to a DIPR report, speaking on the occasion, the veteran politician thanked the electorate of the 28 Koridang A/C for their unflinching support in electing him for five consecutive terms.
Imkong said the victory was not for him alone but for all the people of the constituency and mentioned his special thanks to the citizens of his native village (Mangmetong) for their selfless effort and untiring support.
Giving thanks to God for his abundant blessings, Imkong said God’s plan was amazing for He has spoken to the people of Mangmetong village to be united and to live in peace and through this strong bond amongst the people, God has given then the victory.
Thanks giving messages was delivered from Mangmetong A Khel Senso Mungdang, Mangmetong B Khel Senso Mungdang, Village Council Sattsu, Mangmetong Senso Telongjem, Mokokchung, Kohima, Dimapur and Mangmetong Village Council.
The service was chaired by Mangmetong Baptist Church (MBC) Pastor, Dr. I. Lolen, MBC deacon, Chuchang Imchen said the invocation, Rev. Teka, shared the word of God while special number was presented by choir MBC and Mangmetong Students’ Union.

Don't Miss

Must Read