Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Nagaland to host 1st Miss NE pageant


Nagaland is all set to host the first North East Beauty Pageant on November 3, 2022 at Capital Cultural Hall, Kohima. The pageant will be hosted by Beauty and Aesthetics Society Nagaland (BASN) under the aegis of Northeast Beauty Pageant Organisations (NEBPO) in collaboration with Government of Nagaland.
Addressing a press conference on Saturday, BASN media secretary, Sarah Konyak, said that 15 contestants from eight North Eastern States would be participating in the pageant.
The contestants would be arriving Kohima on October 26.
Two contestants from each state were supposed to participate, but only one contestant would be arriving from Tripura, she added.
BASN president Mele Pucho said necessary preparations have been put into place to host the event.
Pucho said contestants would be introduced to the various cultural practices and traditions in the State.
The contestants would also pay a visit to Pfütsero where they would get the chance to taste Naga traditional cuisines and also witness Chakhesang Women Organisation manufacturing sanitary pads, weaving etc.
On the third day, the contestants along with the organisers would hold a charity event in the form of a jumble sale where clothes, furniture and other essentials would be put up for sale proceeds of which would be donated to orphanages and people with disabilities (PwD).
He said that there would be only four rounds including Ethnic Round, two Designers Rounds and Evening Gown Round.
There would be a total of five judges including a guest judge and four local judges.
Dr. Sagar J. Abichandani, a Celebrity Dentist & a well-known Pageant Smile Expert including Femina Miss India will be the guest judge. The official choreographer for the event is Theja Sekhose.
The winner of the pageant would walk away with a cash prize of Rs 1.5 while the first and second runners-up would receive Rs 1 lakh and Rs.70,000, respectively.
The subtitles include: Miss Photogenic, Miss Perfect Ten, Miss Talent, Queen of Hearts, Miss Beautiful Skin, Miss Multimedia, will receive Rs 20,000 each.
Following are the contestants for the pageant:
Radhe Mamung and Dyna Jomo from Arunachal.
Nityashree Modak and Eshanee Hatimuria from Assam.
H. Lalhriatpuii and Sylvia Lalvenpuii from Mizoram.
Smita Sen from Tripura.
Jessica Olivet Kharlukhi and Irene Dkhar from Meghalaya.
Bhaswati Roy and Subekcha Pradhan from Sikkim.
Kawimaningsiliu Khuvung and Lika Chophy from Nagaland. Mannasha Devi Sapam and Pallavi Laurembam from Manipur.
The pageant will be held annually on a rotational basis among the eight member states and next year Sikkim will host the event followed by Mizoram.
The event will be live streamed in pay-per-view at a nominal rate for people in the other states.

Must Read