Sunday, June 4, 2023

SRH beat RR by 4 wickets in last-ball thriller

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) beat Rajasthan Royals (RR) in match number 52 of IPL 2023 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Riding on a superb innings from Jos Buttler (95 off 59) coupled with an unbeaten 66 off 38 from captain Sanju Samson, Rajasthan opting to bat first, posted 214/2. In response, Hyderabad registered a thrilling last-ball four-wicket win.
The run-chase swayed one way and the other unlike the first innings where Rajasthan really dominated with Yashasvi Jaiswal (35 off 18) and Buttler helping the Men in Pink off to a great start followed by Buttler and Samson’s incredible partnership worth 138 off 81.
Hyderabad too had a good start with Anmolpreet Singh (33 off 25) and Abhishek Sharma (55 off 34) adding over 50 runs inside the powerplay before Yuzvendra Chahal broke the partnership.
This was followed by a 65 off 41 stand between Rahul Tripathi (47 off 29) and Abhishek. Heinrich Klaasen made 26 off 12 including the longest six of the night but the pressure of mounting run rate meant RR were on with over 40 runs to win in the last 2 overs.
However, it was really the cameo from Glenn Phillips (25 off 7), playing just his second match of the season, that kept them in the game till the last over.
In the last over too, Abdul Samad was dropped twice first by Obed McCoy off the first ball before what would have made for a blinder of a catch from Joe Root but went for six in the next ball.
With 5 needed of one ball, Samad seemed to have hit it straight to long off and for a brief while RR celebrated it was later found to be a no ball and off the next ball, Samad had connected well enough to find the maximum.
Yuzvendra Chahal’s 4 for 29 in a match where the opposition needed over 10 runs an over from the outset went in vain.
The result means SRH are now at the 9th place with 8 points while RR stay at the fourth place with 10 points. But Hyderabad have played a game less (10) than Rajasthan (11).
Brief scores
Rajasthan Royals: 214 for 2 in 20 overs (Jos Buttler 95, Sanju Samson 66 not out; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1/44).
Sunrisers Hyderabad: 217 for 6 in 20 overs (Abhishek Sharma 55; Yuzvendra Chahal 4/29).


Repent at leisure

Wrestling maniac

Don't Miss