Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Nagaland State govt to hold discussions before implementing APAAR: Temjen Imna Along


Higher Education and Tourism minister Temjen Imna Along assured that the state government would hold extensive discussions with student organisations and other prominent bodies before implementing the Automated Permanent Academic Account Registry (APAAR) launched recently by the Centre.

Speaking to Nagaland Post on the sideline of the inaugural session of 21st Biennial General Conference of the All Nagaland College Students’ Union (ANCSU) on Wednesday at Mount Tiyi College, Wokha, Along said the government would consider the pros and cons of APAAR before taking a final decision on its implementation. His remarks follow objections raised by certain organisations over the implementation of APAAR in the state.

Meanwhile, addressing the conference as a guest, Along called for unity among Nagas and encouraged them to expand their circles beyond the self-created narrow domestic walls.
Speaking on the theme “Perseverance”, he lamented that the Nagas had lost sight of their future, stressing that solutions to problems could not be achieved individually.

- Advertisement -

He observed that the Nagas created problems and then tended to seek solutions from outside, rather than taking cognisance of their own actions. He called for unity, prosperity, and embracing new ideas. He pointed out to the abundance of natural resources available in the state and encouraged the people to utilise them wisely. He urged everyone to appreciate and support one another.

Expressing gratitude for being a part of the ANCSU family and student bodies of Nagaland, Along noted that the biggest challenge faced by the Nagas was the reluctance to accept criticisms, resulting in problems within various institutions such as hohos, church bodies, political and social organisations, village councils, and NGOs. He also shed light on the importance of being open to criticisms, pointing out that everyone was subject to correction.

Earlier, the programme started with the unfurling of ANCSU flag, followed by inauguration of the monolith by the minister and its dedication by Rev Abemo Jungio.
Organising committee’s convener Dievi Yano delivered conference remarks and urged everyone to rededicate themselves to the principles of the union and continue working towards improving the lives of student community.

In his presidential address, ANCSU president Toito D Chishi expressed gratitude for being given the opportunity to serve the student body for six years. He remarked that the biennial conference was more than just an event, but a platform for collective brainstorming, strategising, and implementing ideas for common objectives.

He stated that the 21st ANCSU Biennial Conference aimed to educate, discuss, and address concerns for betterment of the fraternity and society as a whole. Organising committee’s co-convenor Benjong Longchar chaired the programme and pastor Vitoho Swu invoked God’s blessings on the session.

Students of Peren Government College gave a captivating cultural presentation, while students of Kohima Science College, Jakhama sang a melodious song. Meanwhile, the valedictory programme was graced by Naga Students’ Federation (NSF) president Medovi Rhi.

Addressing the gathering Medovi expressed dismay by the deeply-rooted ecosystem of corruption and bias within the social as well as government setup. This, he said has not only hindered progress but also weakened the moral values of the people.

He further called upon the students to refrain from using forged documents to obtain scholarships and emphasized the importance of only availing benefits entitled to them.

ANCSU new team: During the programme, a team of new office bearers were also inducted for the tenure 2023-25, which will be led by Tenysinlo Bukh as president, Aronthung M. Lotha as general secretary, Dzuzuve Swuro as speaker and Ikato Zhimomi as finance secretary.

The other members include– H. Kivika Achumi as vice president, Kivinok A. Sema as asst general secretary, Tokuho Jakhalu as education secretary; Kivika Yeptho as publicity & information secy, Aloka Yeptho as magazine secy, Imnawapang T. Longkumer as social & cultural secy, Ikato Zhimo as games & sports secy; Duve Tetseo as asst. games & sports secy; Akhavi Awomi as dy. speaker; Inak Achumi as assembly secy and Rendemo C. Tsanglao as auditor general.

Short speeches were delivered by the outgoing ANCSU president Toito D Chishi and also the new president Tenysinlo Bukh. Introduction of new office bearers was done the election commission followed by special prayer for the new team by Wokha Village Baptist Church pastor Rev. O Thungben Kikon.

The valedictory programme was chaired by ANCSU tribunal Pithungo Shitio, special presentation by Phek Government College and vote of thanks was delivered by ANCSU tribunal member Vimeyiekho Vitso.


Most Popular