Monday, January 30, 2023

Subroto Cup: Nagaland wins Boys Under-17 title after 42 years


It was a game that they dominated, but in the end, it took a header in the first-half of extra-time by Setungchim, to ensure that the prestigious Subroto Cup Boys Under-17 crown came to Nagaland after 42 years.

For the record, Pilgrim Higher Secondary School (PHSS), Dimapur, Nagaland, beat Government Model Higher Secondary School (GMHSS), Chandigarh 1-0 to win the 61st Subroto Cup International Football Tournament Boys Under-17 title here at the famous Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar Stadium in the national capital.

It was in 1980, that Government High School Dimapur shared the championship title with Ibemcha Higher Secondary School Manipur since the final match could not be held due to unavoidable circumstances.

Nagaland walked home with Rs 3, 50,000 including trophy and citations while the runners up received Rs 2, 00,000. The semi-finalists and quarter-finalists Rs 1, 50,000 and Rs 1, 00,000 respectively.

The winners received the grand trophy from the chief guest, Chief of Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal V.R. Chaudhari. Also present on the occasion to inspire and cheer on the finalists was Tokyo Olympics silver medalist wrestler Ravi Dahiya, who was the Guest of Honour.

A fantastic Air Warriors Drill Teams performance, an eye-catching cultural programme by students of Air Force Bal Bharti School and a daring Para Jump by the Air Devils of the Directorate of Adventure preceded the entry of the teams into the pitch, where they were first introduced to the chief guest and the guest of honour.

After the game kicked off, the boys from Nagaland played the more enterprising football. Captain Bapen and Thanglenngam combined together well on the left flank where most of the attacks were created. Chandigarh had the best chance of the half when tournament top scorer Lemmet of GMHSS tested Nagaland goalkeeper Shotok, who saved well to keep the scores even.

The second half was an even affair with both teams not able to create any clear cut opportunities taking the game to extra time. Nagaland however, looked the more compact and organized in attack throughout the game.

The goal came early in the first half of extra time, when off a Tongtinlen corner, Setungchim, who had scored a hat-trick in the semi-finals, rose highest to deflect a header past Rohit in the Chandigarh goal.

The team was led by vice president Nagaland Football Association Mughato Aye as the coach and Akihito Zhimo as the manager.

The 61st Subroto Cup edition began on September 6 where a total of 92 schools representing 25 States and Union Territories of India participated in the three (U-14 Boys, U-17 Girls, U-17 Boys) categories including a team from Bangladesh.

Red letter day for Nagaland: Neikha

Advisor for Youth Resources & Sports, Er. Zale Neikha, congratulated the team for winning the prestigious trophy and bringing laurels to the State, adding that it was a red-letter day for Nagaland football to have won such a prestigious tournament.

He said their win epitomised the hardwork put in by the young players. “Our boys from Pilgrim Higher Secondary School, Dimapur representing Nagaland showed their quality to be champions, their teamwork and effort contributed to the success of the trophy,” Neikha said.

He hoped the Nagaland would build such young players for future prospects and continue to bring laurels to the state of Nagaland.

Individual Awards

Best Player – Lemmet Tangvah, GMHSS, Chandigarh.

Best Goalkeeper – Shotok Nikhuyi, PMHSS, Nagaland.

Best Coach – Ankur Khanna, GMHSS, Chandigarh.

Best School – Pilgrim HSS, Dimapur, Nagaland

Fair Play Trophy – 10+2 Zila School, Chabasia, Jharkhand.

Must Read