Thursday, February 9, 2023

Tickets only to NDPP ‘winnable’ candidates: Chingwang Konyak

Staff Reporter

After 21 NPF legislators merged with the ruling NDPP to take the tally to 42 and in the light of NDPP and BJP deciding to contest the forthcoming election under the 2018 formula of 40 (NDPP) and 20 (BJP) there has been confusion over who gets the ticket among the 42 NDPP legislators.
In this regard, NDPP president Chingwang Konyak Wednesday categorically stated that the only criteria for giving party ticket to contest was “winnability” factor. He said this while addressing media persons on the sidelines of the induction programme of NDPP Dimapur-III Assembly constituency office bearers at the residence of NDPP legislator Azheto Zhimomi at Kiyeto village. Azheto was among 21 NPF legislators who merged with the NDPP in April this year.
Chingwang also disclosed that though sitting NDPP legislators will be given preference for party tickets, yet others can also be considered if the party after evaluation was confident of their winnability.
Konyak further informed media that the party’s election committee and parliamentary board would take the final decision on issuing tickets after declaration of election schedule by Election Commission of India (ECI).
Asked whether sitting MLAs would be given priority for ticket distribution, Chingwang replied, that the ‘winnability factor’ will be first taken into consideration. He said if the winnable factor was good as even as little as 50%. then priority will be given to them. Otherwise, he said “we will select an-other winnable candidate.”
He reiterated that the NDPP will stick to 40:20 seat sharing arrangement with BJP, and was party was firm on its pre-poll alliance with the saffron party no matter what people said.
On the problem faced by most parties during ticket distribution, Chingwang assured that the prob-lem, if any within NDPP, would be sorted when the time came.
It may be noted that NDPP and BJP had recently agreed to continue with the 40:20 seat-sharing arrangement for the upcoming election.
Currently, NDPP has 42 sitting MLAs (including two Independents).
Referring to the ENPO demand for Frontier Nagaland and its declaration not to participate in the elections, Chingwang disclosed that he had requested ENPO to bifurcate its demand for separate State from election, since the government of India was going to take a call on the issue.
Meanwhile, addressing the gathering at the induction programme, Konyak clarified that NDPP would not bar any aspiring candidate to seek party ticket, but the party’s election committee and parliamentary board would take a final call on the matter once the election schedule was announced by ECI.
He urged the newly-inducted office-bearers to focus on grassroots level and start enrolment drive, stressing that NDPP as a political party was open for anyone willing to work within the constitution and framework of the party.
He also briefed the gathering on the achievements and developments in the State after the NDPP-led coalition government came to power.
Agriculture and Cooperation minister G Kaito Aye, who spoke in place of chief minister Neiphiu Rio, also stated that there was nothing wrong for aspirants to seek party tickets, but the final decision would be taken by the committee concerned.
He appealed to party’s rank and file to understand that sitting MLAs should be given priority for next election.
Delivering a brief message, Azheto Zhimomi spoke on how arrangements were made for two political parties to merge and come together.
He claimed that 21 MLAs from NPF had joined NDPP with the understanding that they will be given NDPP ticket and therefore, expressed the hope that the ruling party will keep its promises.
He appealed to all members to work together to further strengthen the party. “Both the new and old party workers should work together to strengthen the party,” he exhorted.
On his part, Sericulture, Excise and Minority Affairs adviser Zhaleo Rio mentioned that 21 MLAs from NPF had joined NDPP due to their trust on the party leadership. He further stated that the opposition-less government was formed to give top priority to the decades-long Naga political is-sue.
He also dwelt on how tribalism was ruining Nagas, to the extent that there was no trust among par-ty workers and leaders. He thus urged all to rid themselves of tribalism.
Earlier, the programme was chaired by working president of Youth organisation, NDPP Dimapur Region, Y Lawrence Ovung and welcome address delivered by NDPP Dimapur Region president Vihoshe Awomi.
Short speeches were delivered by newly-inducted NDPP 3 Dimapur-III A/C president Ahuto Zhimomi, head GBs Tsuthrongse and Apeto Assumi, working president of Youth, NDPP 3 Dimapur-III A/C Shekishe Achumi and Viniho.
Induction of office-bearers was initiated by NDPP senior vice-president (central) and convener of reorganizing committee Charlie Sekhose. The newly-inducted office-bearers would be led by Ahuto Zhimomi as president and Keyho as general secretary.

Must Read