Thursday, February 9, 2023

Two former Meghalaya Congress legislators join NPP


Two out of the five suspended Congress legislators, Dr. Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh and Mohendro Rapsang joined the ruling National People’s Party hours after they resigned as members of the Meghalaya Assembly on Monday.
Lyngdoh and Rapsang submitted their resignation letter to Assembly Commissioner and Secretary, Andrew Simons at the Assembly secretariat here on December 19.
Lyngdoh was a senior Congress legislator representing East Shillong constituency while Rapsang represented West Shillong constituency.
“They (Congress) have dismissed us and our opinions about our roles as stakeholders of this great democracy of this country, they have refused to consult with us, they have refused to partner with us,” Lyngdoh said.
The former All India Congress Committee Secretary in-charge Mizoram said that she and Rapsang resigned as members of the State Assembly as well as from the Congress after due diligence and extensive consultative discussions with various stakeholders .
Lyngdoh also resigned from the primary membership of the Congress. In her letter to AICC president, Mallikarjun Kharge thanking the party for the opportunities given and said: “For the most part of her life, I have been a staunch supporter and foot soldier of the Indian National Congress… However, recent developments within the party have led me to believe that it has lost its sense of direction.”
With these resignations the effective strength of the present Assembly has come down to 55 members with these resignations. This number would come down further with several other members slated to resign ahead of the Assembly elections in 2023.
The mind of the other three suspended Congress legislators is yet to be known although there are reports that they would be joining some of the regional parties. The other three suspended MLAs are PT Sawkmie (Mawlai,) Kimfa S Marbaniang (Rambrai-Jyrngam) and Mayralborn Syiem (Nongpoh.)
Sawkmie and Syiem are expected to join the United Democratic Party; however Marbaniang has kept cards close to his heart.
Meanwhile, Monday’s resignations follow earlier resignations of Himalaya Shangpliang (TMC), Ferlin Sangma and BenedicMarak (NPP).These legislators have now joined the BJP.
Shangpliang, a former bureaucrat, represents Mawsynram constituency in East Khasi Hills district. Sangma was also a bureaucrat before joining active politics and is a representative from Selsella and Marak from Raksamgre in Garo Hills region.
Another Independent legislator, Samuel Sangma (Baghmara) joined the BJP as an associate member after disassociating from the UDP, although he didn’t resign from the Assembly.

Must Read