Thursday, March 30, 2023

Voting in Dimapur, Chumou, Niuland and Kohima

Staff Reporters/Correspondent

Polling in Dimapur, Chümoukedima, Niuland and Kohima districts witnessed large voter turnout and was by and large peaceful except for minor incidents in some polling stations. Dimapur district recorded 78% voter turnout in three assembly constituencies, spread across 176 polling stations. Poll percentage for 1 Dimapur-I A/C was 78.12%, 2 Dimapur-II was 75.87% and 3 Dimapur III was 81.2%.
Dimapur-1: Speaking to this reporter, sitting MLA and BJP candidate for 1 Dimpaur I assembly constituency, Tovihoto Ayemi exuded confidence to win the polls and thanked the people of the constituency for coming out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.
INC candidates for 1 Dimapur I A/C, K Therie was unavailable for his comment.
DIMAPUR-II: Sitting legislator and NDPP candidate for 2-Dimapur-II Moatoshi Longkumer also expressed confidence to come out victorious election. He also thanked the people for coming out in large numbers to cast their votes. LJP (RV) candidate, Y Vikheho Awomi was also confident to win the election and said that the final decision lies with the public.
He also expressed happiness on the smooth and peaceful scene of the polling day. “We are also obviously praying for peaceful election”, he stated.
INC candidate of 2 Dimapur II AC, Amento Chishi could not be contacted for his comment.
Dimapur-III: A total of 52 polling station were set up under 3 Dimapur-III assembly constituency. The assembly constituency witnessed a five-cornered contest– sitting MLA and LJP (RV) candidate Azheto Zhimomi, Hekani Jakhalu of NDPP and Vetetso Lasuh (INC) and two Independents– Kahuto Chishi Sumi and Lun Tungnung.
Interacting with the media, Azheto Zhimomi said he was confident but at the same time mentioned that it all depended on God.
NDPP candidate Hekani Jakhalu said she was 101% confident to win, saying the love and support of the people of the constituency was tremendous.
Soon after casting his vote, Independent candidate Lun Tungnung hoped that the people of Nagaland would cast their vote for candidates based on their “ability and capability” and not on the basis of “money power”. He hoped that Nagaland will elect good leaders and not backdoor leaders.
Stressing on “one person, one vote”, Kahuto Chishi Sumi raised objection to village councils deciding to let one person vote for the entire family. Refuting reports about manhandling of a polling official, Kahuto said he had only shouted at the official for not taking action against malpractices.
Ghaspani-1 witnessed a contest between sitting MLA and BJP candidate N Jacob Zhimomi, Akavi N Zhimomi of INC, Imsumongba Pongen (JD-U), V. Phushika Aomi (Ind). Just days before polling, NPF candidate Vicca S Aye declared his support to Jacob Zhimomi.
In Ghaspani-II, it was a three-cornered contest between sitting legislator & NDPP candidate Zhaleo Rio, LJP(RV) candidate Kitoho S. Rotokha and RPI(A) candidate Z. Kasheto Yeptho.

Don't Miss

Shitoho elevated as NPGN/NNC ato kilonser

Following the demise of ato kilonser Z Hozheto Chophi on March 27, the NPGN/NNC core committee members have “unanimously” declared and elevated kilonser Shitoho...

MHSU convenes mid-term meeting

Mopong Hongkong Students Union (MHSU) has convened its mid-term meeting on April 11, 9 am, at host village Yei for ensuing 38th sports session-cum-general...

IT&C holds introductory meeting with advisor, Sethrongkyu

The department of Information Technology & Communication (IT&C) held an introductory meeting with advisor, Information Technology & Communication, Economics & Statistics and Evaluation, Sethrongkyu...

NPGN/NNC N/A (MK) condoles demise of Hozheto

The NPGN NNC/NA (MK) has expressed deep shock and sadness at the demise of Ato Kilonser, NPGN/NNC (N/A), Hozheto Choph.In a condolence message, NPGN...

NSCN/GPRN (Niki) assigns

The Ministry of Kilo Affairs, NSCN/GPRN (Niki) has assigned additional secretary, Ngukato Yeptho, as secretary to UT-I until further order.An intimation issued from the...

Dimapur-Kohima railway line project making steady progress

The 82.50-km Dimapur-Kohima new railway line from Dhansiri station in Assam to Zubza adjacent to Kohima is making steady progress. According to Sabyasachi De,...
Must Read